Name and explain the one guilty pleasure you can’t live without. ie: that cupcake shop you visit weekly, a book you repeatedly read to find solace in, etc). Then explore the idea of how you would feel if you gave that thing up for a year.
Alohamora. Lumos. Fixo repairo. I am a Harry Potter nerd.
I remember my mom seeing something about the Harry Potter books on a talk show she watched when I was in middle school. By then the 1st two were published and there were some pretty long wait lists at the library already, so I bought them and the obsession began. From then on I, along with many other kids, anxiously awaiting the arrival of each following book and was very disappointed when I finished and closed book 7. The movies kept HP new and refreshing, adding faces to the names across the pages I'd read. I own each movie and have seen them all dozens of times, though the books will always be superior.
My favorite thing about the books is Hermione. She is a what every girl should strive to be. I get so sick so of these Bella from Twilight characters whose lives revolve around a guy(or guys) and their emotions are all over the place. Hermione is strong, a fighter, intelligent, confident in her abilities and who she is, and stands behind her friends. I love the strength and determination in all the characters, even Ron, I think they are perfect role models for children and adults.
No Harry Potter for an entire year? I often pick up any of the books and open to a random page and start reading. I usually put in one of the movies during a couple week nights to fall asleep to. I can't imagine not having that comforting feeling that Harry Potter gives me. It requires little brain power because I've become so familiar with it, and after a long day it's just what I want to curl up with. I think I would inevitably rely on reality and therefore lose many many many brain cells that year :/
No comments:
Post a Comment