What are 3 things you are better at than most people?
1. Grammar/Writing. I cringe when adults have gone through 12 years of mandatory schooling, and usually 4 years of university and still don't know where to place a comma, or which "there" to select. I have always been a strong writer, probably because I enjoy it so much, but nothing bothers me more than an educated adult who cannot articulate themselves well on paper/electronically.
2. Drive. I know women have a bad reputation for being poor drivers. I do not think this is entirely accurate, but I have driven with and seen too many that have made me realize why the stereotype exists. I think women get into the car and have to fool with the radio, check their make-up in the mirrors, think about everything they need to do that day, pull gum out of their purse, etc. Guys can just get in the car and drive. I think I have more of a guy mentality when it comes to driving. For me, driving is like my "zen" place. It's a place for me to chill, not think about anything, listen to my favorite music (sometimes horribly sing), and just drive. I've been told by many that they are very comfortable driving with me.
3. Co-existing with roommates. I have had 13 roommates in my life, 15 if you count the family I lived with in Spain. Through four years of undergraduate, and moving each year since I've graduated, included into some 3-bedroom and 4-bedroom apartments, I've lived with mostly girls, but a couple guys too, and even with some family members. Only with the very first one did I have issues with. She ended up dropping out after our freshman year and moving home anyway, so who's issues do you think it was? (haha) The range of people I have lived with have spanned from a burly outdoors-woman, to a girl who loved Family Guy and dead baby jokes, a New Jersey girl who loved Brazilian men, a few central PA girls, a cheerleader sorority girl, a girl who followed me like a lost puppy, and an african-american with some serious attitude. But, through them all I never had issues and they never had issues with me, and I was even good friends with the majority of them. I know the ins and outs of being a roommate- don't blast music past 10:00pm or so, that there's no need to turn every light on late at night, getting up early doesn't mean everyone else wants to get up early so stay quiet, clean your own mess up, help out around the apt/house, etc. I love living with roommates, even ones I haven't been close with. That extra body on the other side of the wall has made my life a little less lonely sometimes when I've lived so far from home :)
No comments:
Post a Comment